remembering

If you’ve watched or listened to the local news today, I’m sure you’re aware that it’s the 10th anniversary of the 35w bridge collapse.  I was listening to MPR on my way home tonight as they were replaying some reporting they did in those first few hours after the collapse….it was chilling, surreal and so sad to hear it all played out again.  I started thinking about how for most of us, it was an important and sad local event, but for so many others, it totally changed the trajectory of their lives…and that of their friends and family.  Back in 2011, I took photos of the memorial dedication ceremony….at the time I was on the board of a non-profit, Survivor Resources, that helped many of the families and survivors impacted by the event.  As I was looking through those old photos tonight, I found this one and it struck me as kind of a haunting image.  It’s one of 13 pillars dedicated to those who died on the bridge.  This one was in honor of Patrick Holmes…he sounded like an amazing guy.  Take a minute today to remember those who lost their lives, but also the survivors and their families and friends….and hug your own loved ones just a little bit tighter tonight.

Leave a Reply

